Attitude · Friendship · Hugot · Love · Relationship

Hugot na naman?! (Part 1)

“Ganun naman talaga siguro. Para tayong panahon. Kung hindi ko maintindihan madalas, minsan malabo tayo.”

Youth nowadays are beginning to be liberal in speech and actions. One way of seeing the evolving and developing progress in the community of these group of people is developing one common language uttered on the lips of one person to another. We call it hugot.

But first, what is hugot?

For some it is associating one’s emotion to object relation, answers a question, gives a suggestion, or imparts a thought or idea pertaining to a specific matter. Other people say that hugot is one way of showing your expression coming from a specific stand point, or roots of your challenges, or current status of your relationship to someone. So if you are broken or longing for someone, you have the tendency to convey messages with vehement emotion or simply throwing a statement in a dramatic but entertaining fashion.

Some are getting their pleasing punch lines based from personal experience about love, friendship, and/or relationship.

How did it became so popular?

Here in the Philippines, the young ones especially the youth in general regardless of one’s age or status in life, is so vocal to voice out their emotion. With the aid of social media in any platforms, from simple individuals to known public figures and even celebrities are joining the hype of this phenomena. Political figures such as the late Senator Miriam Defensor-Santiago is combining her hugot and pick-up lines to captivate and stir the attention of the listeners to her astounding message. Some are jaw-dropping lines were included on her book entitled “Stupid is Forever” and “Stupid is Forevermore”.

The bandwagon goes on and on and on.

An enormous amount of people in the society became so showy on their emotions by throwing simple statements. From memes and even groups, from simple picture captions in Instagram to a status posted in Facebook, hugot is a language not only of love and humor but it is a part of life. Not a lifestyle but only part of adding colors to make life vibrant.

Based on my personal experience, not only as a teacher but as someone who belongs to a community of unique people, I’ve seen and heard a large number of grade-schoolers giving hugot lines not only to their friends! It’s as if they really know what true love means and what’s the feeling of loving someone you liked. Well, that’s how fast they adopt. For some instances, I encountered my pupils or schoolchildren who answers their learning material or quiz or exam particularly on essay questions by writing one or more hugot lines.

What are some of the hugot lines I know?

Hugot is a medium of communication I usually use when I talk to people who are so serious. Not all the time but probably occasionally. By my nature, I really want to see an individual enjoy our conversation together by sharing some hugot lines I randomly make on the spot. Seeing a smile on the face or feeling that the person savors the moment is priceless.

I simply make my hugot when I am going to date someone and we need to travel. To add some fun on the conversation I am telling that person, “hanap tayo ng maluwag na sasakyan, syempre yung kasama ka. Tapos hindi natin ipagsisiksikan yung sarili natin sa iba.

Another instance is when one of the players in the basketball team I used to coach messaged me to make a hugot or pick-up line using the object flashlight. “Ikaw ang flashlight ko! Hindi lang ikaw nagbibigay liwanag sa madilim kong mundo. Ikaw din ang dahilan bakit gusto ko ng bright future.” I replied with a smirk on my face, as if I scored three points in a basketball game.

When someone steps on my sneakers or accidentally hits me, I respond by saying, “Sobrang sakit. Parang yung pag-iwan niya sa akin. Hindi niya lang naapakan o nasaktan emotions ko, iniwan pa ang bakas ng nakaraan na magpapaalala sa akin ng hapdi.

When pupils have the best opportune time to chat me online, I always remember them who are into hugot and/or pick-up lines. The sixth graders, Arkin and Michael. Some of the many pupils whom I know in the campus but unfortunately didn’t got the chance to cross paths with them to teach any subject. But anyways, I believe that “…hindi naman talaga lahat para sa atin. May mga bagay talaga na hindi para sa atin kasi kung hindi natin deserve ito sadyang bagay para sa iba talaga yan.

This is the first part and I’m just getting started. Wait for my second entry soon.

Leave a comment